Lotto NRFL Result: Wednesday May 9

Photo supplied by

A match rescheduled from round one of the Lotto NRFL Men’s Division Two saw Onehunga Mangere United take on Albany United last night at QBE Stadium. 

Albany United were seeking to bounce back after falling to a 2-0 defeat to league leaders Takapuna on Saturday. Onehunga Mangere on the other hand were in full confidence after winning their last two matches and were seeking a third to get themselves out of the bottom three.

Two minutes into the match, Albany found themselves on the front foot, when Lee Robinson opened the scoring for the Reds. Almost 20 minutes later, Andrew Mobberley doubled the scoring to make it 2-0 and shortly after that, made it three. Mobberley’s brace meant he moved up to three goals on the overall golden boot tally after returning from injury.  With ten minutes remaining in the first half, Keagan Brophy headed home Albany’s fourth before the break.

The second half saw Onehunga Mangere fight back, as they managed to keep Albany at bay, Alex Witteveen nabbing a goal back late on.

Final Score:

Onehunga Mangere United 1-4 Albany United (HT: 0-4)
OMU: Alex Witteveen 85’
ALB: Lee Robinson 2’, Andrew Mobberley 22’ 25’, Keagan Brophy 35’

Lotto NRFL Men’s Division 2 League Table: 

Lotto NRFL Men’s Division Two Golden Boot: 

Thirteen goals: 
Tommy Miller (Takapuna AFC)

Eight goals:
Josh Clarkin (Cambridge FC)

Seven goals: 
Charlie Heather (Franklin United)
Caleb Russ (Northland FC)

Six goals: 
Lucas Stead (Bucklands Beach AFC)

To see the full list of goal scorers click here